jump to navigation

John Mayer March 9, 2009

Posted by priscilaraposo in Musicalicious.
trackback

clip_image002

(by Samara)

 

clip_image004

Some people call him a genius. Some people call him a douchebag. He might have a bit of an ego and oftentimes he might even come off as a show-off, but one has got to admit he is pretty skillful when it comes to playing music. Influenced by several great artists such as Stevie Ray Vaughan, Eric Clapton and Jimmy Hendrix, John started off by singing some pop tunes, namely “Your Body is a Wonderland” and “Why Georgia” and made his way into something bluesy with the John Mayer Trio back in 2005. In 2007, Mayer was named as one of the New Guitar Gods and was featured on the cover of Rolling Stone. Throughout his career, John Mayer has been nominated for the Grammy Awards more than 10 times and has won 7 times. In February this year, Mayer was nominated for 5 Grammys and won two of them—Best Male Pop Vocal Performance for “Say” and Best Solo Rock Vocal Performance for “Gravity”. Here’s what the guitarist has to say about Gravity, the song which awarded him a Grammy:

“This is the most important song I’ve ever written; it’s a time capsule song. I will listen to it every day of my life if I need to. It’s honest to God the most important song I’ve ever written in my life, and it has the fewest words. I was in LA, and I was there for the summer, just writing tunes, and I was in the shower. And I don’t know where it came from, but it’s the damn truth you know, and I just sang, “gravity…is working against me.”

Umm, this is a song about… making sure you still love yourself… making sure you still have your head on, making sure you still say no the way your mom would say no. And I will need it every damn day of my life because it’s easier to mess up than it is to stay here.”

So my advice to you is: watch the video below and draw your own conclusions!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ur0YWyamDI&feature=related

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

